I Support Sharon Cissna

“The freedom to travel should never come at the price of basic human dignity and pride.”

Alaska state representative Sharon Cissna was on her way back to Juneau from Seattle when she refused a pat-down at Sea-Tac. She had already gone through a body scan by machine. The scan displayed the results of a mastectomy after suffering from breast cancer.

This caught the attention of the Transportation Safety Administration, Cissna said, but she refused to submit to the “invasive, probing hands of a stranger” this time.

Her spokesman released a formal statement, full of challenges to the stupid system instituted by a bunch of bureaucrats and politicians.

“A female agent placed herself blocking my passage.  Scan results would again display that my breast cancer and the resulting scars pointed a TSA finger of irregularity at my chest.  I would require invasive, probing hands of a stranger over my body.”

It’s nice to see people, including elected officials, taking on the system.

“Facing the agent I began to remember what my husband and I’d decided after the previous intensive physical search.  That I never had to submit to that horror again!  It would be difficult, we agreed, but I had the choice to say no, this twisted policy did not have to be the price of flying to Juneau!”

It’s time to remove the TSA from federal authority.

AJH

Leave a Reply

