A Thun Cousin

On Saturday I got a note from a woman named Sheila who’d been reading through some of my blog posts. She’s a distant cousin, going back to the days when the various family lines were in Pomerania.

Hello,

Great information on your blog about Butow and the Thun lineage. Loved the Stagecoach route map. I never knew about the Kreis Butow book from 1938! Very interesting. I would love to see a copy of that but the German would be difficult for me. Do you know if John and Liesel Hingst completed their English translation of the book? I haven’t found any information on it as yet and would be very interested in contacting them. Would it be possible for you to forward my email to them?

According to LDS information on the family search IGI, I am descended from Michael Thun, apparently a brother to your George. The line goes from their father, George Thun, down to my great grandmother Emilie Friederike Rott who was born in 1840 in Borntuchen. Since this is all unsourced I don’t know how much of this information is accurate. Was the information in the Kreis Butow book taken from the original German records? They are pretty hard to come by today.

Thanks for posting some great information and any further help if possible.

Thanks,
Sheila Sayers

I have been working on getting the book she mentions, published in German in 1938, and an English translation online. Unfortunately the copy I had is gone now. I sent her the link to the project site.

AJH

Leave a Reply

