Ann Curry Is History

Cover of the August 2012 issue of Ladies' Home Journal
The cover of the August 2012 issue of Ladies’ Home Journal features Curry

Ann Curry, graduate of the University of Oregon and anchorette of NBC’s Today show, has been sacked, according to multiple news reports. I may have read about this in March or April, but let it slide. I previously wrote about my dislike of her after finding a blog dedicated to the subject, I Hate Ann Curry.

She may be reassigned to a news magazine such as Dateline, a show I despise more than Curry’s shoddy, feel-good so-called journalism. She might just fit in with the sleazy tabloid style.

Curry had planned to stay on for at least five more years. Online gossip about what happened is rampant.

Apparently, the mighty Matt Lauer can’t stand his co-anchor and believes she has created a boring shell out of a once bright and fulfilling show.

 

Lauer was certainly right on that one. Why she was promoted will always be a source of puzzlement for me.

At times Curry has the crazy ex-girlfiend look and aura.
At times Curry has the look and aura of a crazy, yet dull ex-girlfiend.

She took the ratings war with Good Morning America personally, but couldn’t do much to stem the slide.

You worry, am I not good enough? Am I not what people need? Am I asking the right questions? When people say negative things or speculate, you can’t help but feel hurt.” — Ann Curry

Here’s my advice for Ann.

Don’t be so fake. Don’t be such a shill. Don’t be so corporate.

Is this something you really want to be doing?

Find your passion and make a career out of it.

I don’t think being a news reader or morning show host fits you very well. Maybe you should write a book or something.

ajh

Leave a Reply

