Morgan & Hannah

Morgan Reynolds (1824-1872)

Saturday evening I decided to poke around on Find a Grave, an online database of cemeteries and gravestones. It is a terrific resource for family historians.

For years I have been searching for the grave of my great-great-great grandfather Morgan Reynolds. He died in 1872, relatively young, at the age of 48. Ever since learning about him and adding him to the family tree, probably in 1989, I have wondered where the man was buried.

So I decided to see what I could find just using the surname and the year of his death. To my amazement, I found a burial for someone named Reynolds who died in August of 1872. Sure enough, this looked like my Morgan.

I then browsed through the others buried in this place I knew nothing about: Greencastle Cemetery in Poweshiek Township, Jasper County, Iowa. His wife Hannah Tallman and at least one daughter were buried there, too.

After more than twenty years of searching, I had found ’em.

Most of my ancestors in this part of Iowa are buried in the Peoria and Graham cemeteries. Graham is situated just a few miles to the northwest of Greencastle.

ajh

One thought on “Morgan & Hannah”

Leave a Reply

