V Is For Volition

logo_lg
IL_NGDon’t know anything about them. But I like their logo. Discovered em on the front page of the Champaign, Illinois newspaper.

The face within the logo reminds me of the mask in V for Vendetta, the comic and the film. That mask is a stylized depiction of Guy Fawkes, infamous for trying to blow up Parliament in 1605.

Volition is a word not much used any more. I do remember having heard it before, from the mouths of adults scolding us lazy kids.

It’s a terrific word, with origins in Medieval Latin, so I will do my best to popularize it again.

I’ve been hunting down good definitions.

Merriam-Webster keeps it simple: it is “the power to make your own choices or decisions.” 

ajh

 

Leave a Reply

