The Meanings of Words

I love Stephen Fry, the Brit actor and personality. He and I don’t see eye-to-eye on everything, but then who does?

What I do like about him is that he’s so watchable. He’s entertaining, and I almost always learn something for him.

I’ve been addicted to his show QI on the BBC for years. It’s a way of learning that’s relaxed and fun. It’s like having a conversation.

Well, the other day somehow I managed my way to his personal site and discovered a post on Trump and a word I’d never heard of or used before: trumpery. It’s amazingly fitting to the situation.

trumpery  ˈtrʌmp(ə)ri

noun (pl. trumperies)

  • practices or beliefs that are superficially or visually appealing but have little real value or worth. he exposed their ideals as trumpery. theatrical trumpery. [ as modifier ] : that trumpery hope which lets us dupe ourselves.

adjective

showy but worthless: trumpery jewellery.

  • delusive or shallow: that trumpery hope which lets us dupe ourselves.

ajh

Leave a Reply

