Norma Jeane at Ninety

Marilyn Monroe, birth name Norma Jeane Mortenson, would have turned 90 on Wednesday. It’s hard to think that she is the same generation as my grandparents.

Sadly, the only one left, the only one I have known, is my paternal grandmother. She was born in 1927. Norma Jean was born a year earlier, in 1926. And both are named Marilyn.

I’ve never thought the name is particularly sexy. But then you get to thinking about Marilyn Monroe.

I only noticed the news because relatives in Scotland are interested in linking up with her.

“New DNA findings show that Marilyn was descended from a Ross-shire Munro soldier exiled to America after the English Civil War.”

Ain’t history fascinating?

“After King Charles II was defeated by Cromwell at the Battle of Worcester in 1651, some captured Royalists were sold into forced servitude in the Americas.”

I’d heard of anti-monarchists and other such rebels being deported, but never royalists.

I don’t know much about Ross-shire and the Scottish Highlands, but I do love Scotland. I can feel it in my blood.

My DNA traces to Dumfries. I am distant cousins with the Johnstone clan, whose surname derivatives include Johnston and Johnson. I am hoping to complete the Scots part of the tree with the help of DNA.

ajh
Leave a Reply

