Call me old-fashioned. Yes, I am offended by people, especially Americans, burning the Stars & Stripes

jnsmemorialflags4jpg-ce93f9b2bd429cf3

My being offended by an “activist” burning the American flag in San Francisco has landed me in the crosshairs of a few leftist radicals and their friends.

More than offended, however, I am disturbed. I find anyone living in America, being free from tyranny and roaming around doing whatever it is they do, willing to burn the flag, which symbolizes the nation, to be sadly confused about the state of things.

Of course, maybe it’s just an attention grabbing stunt. Even if that’s the case, it’s still disturbing, perhaps more so. Anything for the spotlight. Welcome to the selfie generation and mentality.

The good news, however, is that I am far from alone. The vast majority of folks responding to a survey find the act offensive or just downright confusing.

One Twitterist, with the handle Offensivist, has added me to a list offended people. The purpose of this list is unknown to me. Now I am trying to get myself added to Offensivist’s “brilliant modern minds” list.

Boy, minds full of mush is oh, so depressingly right. This is the same crowd that developed trigger warnings and safe places.

What I’d really like to see is some of these flag burning hypocrites visiting say Iran or Saudi Arabia and doing these publicity stunts there.

ajh

Leave a Reply

