The U.S. Army writes me a letter & now I wait

Today I received a letter from the U.S. Army Human Resources Command in Fort Knox, Kentucky.

I’d totally forgotten about my original query. I read a genealogical magazine article on military records and followed through on the writer’s advice.

Months ago I sent a FOIA¹ request for a copy of a relative’s Individual Deceased Personnel File (IDPF). He was killed in France during combat in World War I.

Such a file may include all sorts of letters and information, including photographs. So I will be waiting patiently for any paperwork to come my way. It will take some time, possibly “up to forty-eight (48) weeks to process and release records.”

The physical file, if there is one, is located at the Washington National Records Center in Suitland, Maryland. I fear that there may be no file on him. We will see.

ajh

1. Freedom of Information Act

Leave a Reply

