“I don’t want this to be about race, because it’s not. It’s not. . . . we’re beyond that. As a nation.” — Cam Newton

Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton recently spoke with a writer from GQ and said that racism isn’t a factor any more in American society, and I concur. Of course, the victim lobby is up in arms while some of their adherents burn Milwaukee.

In January, right before the Super Bowl, you said: “I’m an African-American quarterback that may scare a lot of people because they haven’t seen nothing that they can compare me to.”

“I don’t want this to be about race, because it’s not. It’s not. Like, we’re beyond that. As a nation.”

For the first time, I agree with Cam and admire his forthrightness. He must have known that he’d be attacked for the comments. And it didn’t take long.

I hope he doesn’t backtrack, apologizing or whatever. Stand your ground, Cam. Stand by your beliefs.

ajh

Leave a Reply

