Thank God. I hate open showers. I’m sure most kids will appreciate this.

NE_OWH

Privacy is a big deal with me. Always has been. I have never understood the communal locker room showers.

I can understand it in communal, commie countries like mainland China, where I was forced to do the same. I dubbed that place the gulag showers because that’s pretty much what it was. Anyone could and would go there for a shower.

It was near our hotel, the worst hotel in the city. Our host was too cheap and greedy to splurge on anything else. An older American couple part of our entourage were the only ones with a shower in their room and this was used mostly by the women and girls. Trying to book it was like trying to get the hotel staff to do anything, such as fulfill their promise of laundry service.

My dirty clothes were sitting by the front desk for days, so long that I started a trend. Soon there was a huge pile of people’s clothes, which everyone eventually took back because no one ever came to pick them up for cleaning. This was probably for the best because who know if and when we’d ever get them back.

I’ve been an even bigger critic of the PRC ever since that bizarre trip.

ajh

 

Leave a Reply

