The Vanity of an Artist

I actually referenced this David Hockney quote during an interview with the Seattle Symphony today.

I talked about how I feel very much the same way. I am mostly introverted, with moments of extrovert activity for public performances, etc.

I am performing with a group at Benaroya Hall in Seattle on Wednesday, March 8, though I’d prefer to sit in the bank of the recital hall and watch it play out.

I love the composing part of music, where I am mostly in the background. I would like to do the same for public performance, sit in the very back or perhaps stand, but I will instead be on stage, in a mix with professional and amateur musicians.

ajh

Leave a Reply

