I love reading about Bismarck. He fascinates me. Re·al·po·li·tik, baby!

bismarck

Often I find that children’s books, as in books written for children about any particular help simplify and clarify subjects for me. I love ’em.

Such is the case with a book I discovered at the public library in downtown Bellevue, Washington. It is a brief bio on Otto von Bismarck, the man who created modern German state. The author, Kimberley Heuston, boils down the essential facts, mixed with a bit of moralizing, but not enough to be off putting, thank God.

If ever you are confused by a topic, see if there’s a kids’ book on it. And don’t be embarrassed! Learning is learning! Knowledge is knowledge! No matter how you absorb it.

ajh

Leave a Reply

