Remembering Sarah Yarborough

A photo of Sarah Yarborough as shown on KOMO News
A photo of Sarah Yarborough as shown on KOMO News

I have been reading some of the news accounts on a DNA analysis in the case of Sarah Yarborough, a student at a high school in Federal Way just south of Seattle who was murdered in 1991. I first happened upon the story from a newspaper half a world away, on the Daily Mail‘s website. I don’t watch much television any more, so I didn’t catch any of the local news about the case.

According to “expert” Colleen Fitzpatrick, the perpetrator’s DNA shows a likely connection to a family named Fuller, specifically the Fuller family who arrived in America on the Mayflower. As far as I know I am not related to the Fullers, though I am a descendant of a fellow Mayflower passenger, Edward Doty.

There are some skeptics of the report. Since the DNA profile has not been made public, the claim is difficult to verify or challenge.

I really don’t like the idea that murders go unsolved. I don’t like the fact that some very bad dudes are out wandering the streets. I do, however, take some comfort in the philosophy that God and the universe have a way of making people pay for their sins.

Here’s to catching the SOB. I hope karma hasn’t been kind to him.

ajh

2 thoughts on “Remembering Sarah Yarborough”

  1. Sarah and I took a class together. I knew her and we spoke to her during class. She was very nice and on the drill team. Years later married … the throught she was murdered so brutally haunts me. Its still scary to know that someone I personally knew when I was younger was murdered. We were both 16 at the time. If i recall her birthday was in June. Its been so ling ago I am unable to remember the day.

    M

  2. Sarah and I took a class together. I knew her and we spoke during class. She was very nice and on the drill team. Years later married … the thought she was murdered so brutally haunts me still. Its still scary to know that someone I personally knew when I was younger was murdered. We were both 16 at the time. If I recall her birthday was in June. Its been so long ago I am unable to remember the day. My heart still goes out to her family.

Leave a comment